//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Such a Week, Now Off I Go


The past week has been filled to the brim with things to do – mostly, I thought, preparations for the trip to Paris and Normandy that actually starts tomorrow.  But it was curious how much was sort of tucked in around the edges.  Wednesday there was an open mic at the Garfield Center for the Arts in Chestertown (www.princetheatre.org) where I faced one of my three major fears – the performance one.  The other two, just in case you want to know, are bridges and heights generally, and I try to face them on a regular basis as well – stages are actually a bit harder to come by in my self imposed “conquering by doing” therapy.  Anyway, I did pretty well – at least with the singing and playing – mistakes were minor, but I have to work on a stage presence…really.  Scared to death is not a stage presence…

Friday, Paul Reed Smith played at Washington College in such a fun and interactive concert that I forgot to take photos – and that NEVER happens.  Good music, lots of crowd participation.  He had a singer with him from Baltimore who could really ring the rafters – Mia Davis is going to be someone we are hearing from, and soon.

Then Sunday was a great dinner at 202 Dover – The Peacock Room in Easton before going to see Aaron Neville at the Avalon Theater – that place continues to amaze me with the caliber of the entertainment they bring in…Aaron Neville has one of those distinctive and wonderful voices …it was a terrific opportunity to see him in that lovely, small venue.


So everything since has been about wrapping up loose ends…and now I’m packed and ready to head to Dulles for the overnight flight to Paris.  Two camera batteries charged and ready, I am ready…



Discussion

One thought on “Such a Week, Now Off I Go

  1. Buona vacanza.

    Posted by Betta | May 2, 2012, 7:51 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 834 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 5,300 hits
