//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Snow Hill, Maryland – Down the Rabbit Hole


River House Inn in the early morning light

 

 

 

 

 

 

It has been nearly a week since my last amazing breakfast at The River House Inn(www.riverhouseinn.com) in Snow Hill, Maryland, and it has been a week tonight since Barb Dougherty  (www.americanartmaryland.com) hosted her wonderful Dining with Art dinner featuring California artist Robert Burridge.  If you don’t know Bob’s work, his web site will give you a taste of what 25+ of us enjoyed in a 5 day painting workshop with him – but what it won’t give you is a sense of how he can inspire every bit as well as he paints.   (www.robertburridge.com).  One of the participants, Judy Grupp, in her blog posts about the workshop can give you a much better sense…see her posts along with her inspired and inspiring work at judygruppstudios.blogspot.com

So why over a week, and why the rabbit hole reference? I have been trying to process everything I went through during that week – I was explaining it all to a friend when I returned who promptly wrote the soundtrack of my happiness with the experience.  Check out Grant Aldonas’ “Snow Hill” on SoundCloud    I’m not sure how he got it so right, but from my early morning walks through the workshop and into the night with the art-full salons at The American Art Gallery…it is.

It was the Monday after Easter that I needed to be ready to set up to paint in the old Snow Hill Fire House at 8 a.m. – a 2-1/2 hour drive from home.  I arrived on time and found myself smack in the middle of a group of artists who had come to Snow Hill on the Eastern Shore from a variety of places – northern New Jersey to Washington DC and beyond.  I’d only ever been to Snow Hill once before, and never for the incredible pleasure of walking in the early morning in the middle of a glorious spring.  What a place to paint!

But a rabbit hole?  Only in the Wonderland sense – everywhere I turned there were amazing things – all of the impossible things I love to imagine before breakfast.  🙂

Snow Hill was granted its first charter in 1686 and was made a port of entry as The Royal Port of Snow Hill in 1694.  The seat of Worcester County, Maryland,  Snow Hill is situated between the southern border of Delaware, the northern border of Virginia, inland from the ocean, and on the Pokomoke River, which runs to the Chesapeake Bay.  The Pokomoke is said to be one of the deepest rivers for its width in the world.  Running as it does through groves of baldcypress, the water is dark and beautifully reflective of the trees in bloom along its banks.  Snow Hill was in colonial times, the head of navigation on the 66 miles of river, a protected deep water port for ships arriving from England.

As far back as the town dates, I was surprised to find the downtown area looking so solidly 19th century, but I learned that much of the commercial district was destroyed by fire in 1893 and rebuilt within two years, so ok, I get it.  It is utterly charming.

I am missing the “Paint Snow Hill” event next weekend, but I will certainly be going back to Snow Hill to paint – everything from Americana to Monet.  The morning light was just so beautiful.  If I didn’t have those incredible breakfasts to get back to…but at least I captured much with the camera.

               

In the Sally Garden at the River House Inn

 

  

 

Discussion

One thought on “Snow Hill, Maryland – Down the Rabbit Hole

  1. Hey! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with
    us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information.
    I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my
    followers! Excellent blog and excellent design.

    Posted by Bee Friendly Bee Removal Boksburg | April 29, 2014, 11:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 834 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 5,326 hits
