//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

All About Looking Up


I know I am still off topic, but it is still winter, in spite of an unseasonable blooming of flowers in the yard – and don’t think my wandering feet aren’t getting itchy to go…but I still have winter things to work through before I will be able to get into the car and hit the road.

One of those things was to take some paintings to a gallery the other day because in conversation the owner had indicated an interest in seeing my representational work – she did NOT want to see abstracts, which is ok for her clientele, but mostly I like the abstracts better….but anyway, I showed up with that portfolio and three paintings – landscapes, animal paintings, portraits – all of that. Her comment, after giving all of it consideration was that my skies were too colorful, and she would like to see something more representative of the Eastern Shore. Hmmm. It is true, I like color. I see a lot of it in the day to day, and I use it when I paint to attempt to recreate the excitement it evokes – and most especially in representational work. I mean, I appreciated her input, but came away thinking that this is perhaps not the gallery for me.

But it got me to thinking (and by now you have to know that I can break into stream of consciousness like that at the drop of a hat.) What was my visual input for the skies I paint? I take photos of skies – I have literally thousands of them.

A view from the studio

I am so awed by the glory of the skies (yeah, trite) that I often stop in the middle of anything I am doing and try to capture the drama and color. This can be awkward when I’m driving, I have to admit, but most times I make it to the side of the road before I have to get that shot.

All of the photos here are local to Maryland’s Eastern Shore. They are all a part of the inspiration that becomes my paintings. I have to admit, though, that I’m not sure I’m getting enough color in …

Sunrise just down the road

Sunset on the Chesapeake

The color is more subtle, maybe but the drama factor is wow...

This reminds me of an African sky, but is out in the front field

I love the striations here - and I'm able now to point to something to explain my orange skies

This is just kind of magical in color - another view from the studio



So I’m having a little trouble trying to sort out the proper Eastern Shore sky. Or no, I’m not, really. I think I’ll just keep on keeping on…in fact, it looks like I have several here that are begging to go on canvas some kind of how. It is what keeps me in any kind of representational work, after all…

Discussion

5 thoughts on “All About Looking Up

  1. Beautiful photos!

    I just started my own blog about photography, music and video and would love your feedback on it. Here is the link:
    http://capturedpast.wordpress.com

    Thanks!

    Posted by jamesdg | February 8, 2012, 2:26 pm
  2. There is no such thing as “too colorful”! I am glad you did not take this gallery 🙂 I love the colors of the Eastern Shore =)

    Posted by ta fille allemande | February 8, 2012, 5:11 pm
  3. Like, like, like.

    Posted by Betta | February 9, 2012, 8:16 am
  4. Wonderful photos…and amazing colors! Well done.

    Posted by Pegret | February 10, 2012, 7:57 pm
  5. Top-notch info it is without doubt. We have been seeking for this content.

    Posted by Otelia Belzung | February 22, 2012, 3:57 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 834 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 5,318 hits
