//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Merry Christmas!


I have always resisted writing Christmas letters to include with my cards, or to send instead of a card.  I understand that it is a great way for people who otherwise don’t stay close to catch up on a year’s worth of events, but I have found that trying to condense a year of living into a single page is not possible – hence Wayward Pioneer 🙂

I do try to send Christmas cards though, and I love getting them – cards with handwritten notes are a bonus, cards with hand written signatures are thoughtful, cards with printed signatures  – well, at least I am on someone’s radar.  I keep them out where they can be seen throughout the season – not because I think that others will want to spend time with them, but because it is a reminder of the community to which I belong – a far flung association of people who come together at this time of the year to wish only good things for me and for mankind generally. I’m getting a lot of e-cards these days, and I don’t mind them…but I print them if I can to put with the others so I have a place where wishes for peace, love, joy, happiness and health in the new year can concentrate and perhaps swell into a tangible result for everyone with the healing power of prayer.  I like the image of a bell ringer collecting good will in a bucket…

Christmas is a time of introspection for me too – for missing departed friends and family.  I think a lot of people get depressed around this time of year for that reason – Christmas past is often seen as more joyful than Christmas present.  I don’t really go there, though.  The veil through which I view the past has a way of softening away any disappointment I may have had then, revealing now only the dear faces of those who filled my world.  I am impressed with the power of time to reveal what remains important.

I am blessed to be loved by family and friends and animals – with everything that happens every year that can put me in danger or in a state of fear, I find solace and joy in knowing that I am loved.  My challenge is to adequately return that love so that there is an equilibrium – I like to think that I can hold up my end of the bargain.

So Merry Christmas everyone.  I say Merry Christmas because this is my tradition.  Please take that wish into your own tradition and know that it means that I think of you and that you are loved.

Barbara, the Wayward Pioneer

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

  1. LIke, like, like.

    Posted by Betta | December 20, 2011, 10:38 am
  2. Merry Christmas…I am thinking of you and sending love back to you as well.

    Posted by Rosemarie Mullineaux | December 20, 2011, 10:48 am
  3. Feliz Navidad, Maman!

    Posted by Luis | December 21, 2011, 10:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 835 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 5,364 hits
