//
you're reading...
Day trips of the Delmarva

Rainy Day Looking Back – Longwood Gardens


I had this post all but written and had a burp in the electrical power – it has been than kind of week, but if that’s the worst I have to look forward to, I’m blessed.

Since it is off and on pouring rain, I’m not planning to do much running today.  But it gives me such a wonderful opportunity to catch up – this has been a summer filled with small outings that rendered beautiful experiences.  The key to all of it has been a willingness to just go.  That isn’t always as easy as it should be.  But it renders pretty spectacular returns, and I have to keep that in mind.

I made a very conscious decision to start again exploring my world.  The first trip I took was to Longwood Gardens, near Kennett Square, PA.  Such a lovely day.  I was lucky to go on a day when the school groups concentrated on the tree houses and annuals so that I could wander most of the rest of the garden nearly alone.  I started in the conservatory – a wondrous place filled with an indoor stream, lake and paths…and specialty garden collections like the orchids, tropical and desert plants.  It is amazing to see what was once a private playground but has become such a beautiful public facility.   The orchids always amaze me because I don’t really ever expect them to come in all of the forms and colors… 

The other part of the conservatory that I love is actually outdoors – the water lily gardens have some of the most exotic and wonderful species – from the really big ones that you see in old Victorian photos with people standing on the leaves, to diminutive forms that you have to pay attention to notice.  This one, however, was actually just aglow in the late morning light…you can’t beat nature for color combinations, all things considered.

From the conservatory I was able to make my way to a leisurely and lovely lunch at the on site restaurant, and from there to the fountain displays.  It was really great, though a little eerie to have so much of the space to myself, but I adjust really well to that kind of situation…

I went from the fountains to the waterfall and I could almost feel myself kick skirts out of the way as I walked…it is easy to imagine yourself in another time wandering the gardens, especially if you are not surrounded by kids in flip flops, tee shirts and cargo shorts 🙂

I love the waterfall.  It reminds me of many happy hours spent at the Buchart Gardens in British Columbia, and is the part of Longwood that I find most evocative of that great garden. The bell tower is a lovely addition, and I was there at precisely the moment the carillon bells played the hour – lovely!


Those these are my photos (of course) there are many more images and lots of information about the gardens at http://www.longwoodgardens.org


Discussion

One thought on “Rainy Day Looking Back – Longwood Gardens

  1. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

    Posted by web design greece | November 24, 2011, 1:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 835 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 5,364 hits
